skip navigation

Dan Pittman Named Football Team MVP

Dan Pittman Named Football Team MVP

A day after the 2014 season came to a close, the Hillsdale College football program bestowed some honors among its top players.

Senior defensive back Daniel Pittman took home plenty of hardware, highlighted by being named the Roy Beck Most Valuable Player. He is the first DB to win the team's MVP award since Chad Gurica did it following the 2005 season.

Pittman (pictured) was also named the Outstanding Defensive Back, was the winner of the One Play Warrior Award, and earned the Captains Award, along with fellow team captains Alex Fogt, Tim Moinet and Butch Herzog.

Moinet spent the past four seasons roaming the secondary with Pittman, and received the E.P.E.P. Award (Every Player, Every Play). 

Herzog came back from an injury that robbed him of the middle part of his senior season and played well enough to earn the Ralph Miller III Award as the team's top linebacker.

Senior wide receiver Evan Bach led the team with 36 receptions on the season and was named the winner of the Outstanding Offensive Back Award. He's the first wide receiver to pick up that award since Nick Gurica (younger brother of Chad) after the 2007 season.

Bach also took home the Leonard Urbanik Award for Scholarship, Leadership and Ability. That award recognizes Bach's character, work ethic, excellence on the field and high achievement in the classroom.

Senior Tyler Jenks was rewarded for a career marked by great toughness and consistency by being named the team's Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Jenks had 29 total tackles on the season, and was a space-eater on the line of scrimmage, opening up spots for the team's linebackers to make plays.

Senior punter Matt Eltringham was recognized after a four-year starting career with the Howard "Champ" Messenger Award. 

The only other underclassman besides Fogt to receive an award was junior offensive lineman Matt VanOpstall, who was named the team's Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman.