skip navigation

VOLLEYBALL - Midwest Region Crossover Preview

VOLLEYBALL - Midwest Region Crossover Preview

2017 MIDWEST REGIONAL CROSSOVER

WHERE: The Great Lakes Center, Aurora, IL  |  Google Maps Location for the Great Lakes Center

Event Webpage

G-MAC Volleyball Standings

GLIAC Volleyball Standings

GLVC Volleyball Standings

FRIDAY

WHO: #13 Ferris State (14-3 overall, 8-1 GLIAC) vs. Hillsdale College (15-3 overall, 8-2 G-MAC)

FIRST SERVE: 11:30 a.m. CDT, 12:30 p.m. EDT

LINKS: Live Stats

THE SERIES: The Bulldogs have the longest current winning streak of any Charger opponent, having won eight in a row over Hillsdale dating back to the 2012 season. The Chargers are 11-14 versus Ferris State since 1998.

WHO: Tiffin University (10-7 overall, 5-4 GLIAC) vs. Hillsdale College

FIRST SERVE: 5:30 p.m. CDT, 6:30 p.m. EDT

LINKS: Live Stats

THE SERIES: Hillsdale had won 15 matches in a row over the Dragons until Tiffin upended the Chargers 3-1 in the last meeting between the teams, back on Oct. 21, 2016.

SATURDAY

WHO: Bellarmine University (15-3 overall, 6-3 GLVC) vs. Hillsdale College

FIRST SERVE: 1:00 p.m. CDT, 2:00 p.m. EDT

LINKS: Live Stats

THE SERIES: The Chargers defeated the Knights in a Midwest Region Crossover matchup back in 2013, 3-1.

OVERVIEW: This is the 10th annual Midwest Region Crossover, an event that has become one of the premier regular season attractions on the NCAA Division II volleyball calendar...Hillsdale enters the event as the No. 2 seed from the G-MAC, and will face the No. 1 seed from the GLIAC (Ferris State), the No. 5 seed from the GLIAC (Tiffin) and the No. 3 seed from the GLVC (Bellarmine)...Results in these matches play a significant role in determining the at-large teams that qualify for the NCAA Regional Tournament...The tournament format pits highly ranked teams from each conference against one another, helping everyone's strength of schedule rating when regional rankings roll around later this month...Hillsdale owns the G-MAC's longest winning streak (8 straight wins) of any G-MAC program entering play this weekend...The Chargers have only lost one set during that eight-match winning streak...Hillsdale will face three-time defending GLIAC champion Ferris State to open play, then will face former GLIAC, and future G-MAC opponent Tiffin in Friday's second match...A strong Bellarmine Knights team awaits the Chargers in Saturday's lone matchup...Hillsdale has traditionally done very well at the crossover, accumulating an all-time record of 19-8 in the first nine years of the event.