skip navigation

15 Charger Track Athletes Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

15 Charger Track Athletes Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

2016-17 USTFCCCA Men's Track All-Academic List

2016-17 USTFCCCA Women's Track All-Academic List

2016-17 USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams

Both Hillsdale College track & field teams enjoyed great seasons in 2016-17, while maintaining Hillsdale's incredibly challenging class load. Both teams and several of their individuals were recognized for their efforts by the sport's governing body.

Both men's and women's track teams were named All-Academic by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, the sixth consecutive year they have earned these honors under head coach Andrew Towne. Both teams finished with a cumulative grade point average above 3.0 in order to win this award.

In addition, 15 individuals - six male, nine female - were named USTFCCCA All-Academic athletes for the 2016-17 school year.

Men's winners were: Caleb Gatchell, Joseph Humes, Colby Clark, Ty Etchemendy, Todd Frickey and Tanner Schwannecke.

Women's winners were: Molly Oren, Rachael Tolsma, Hannah McIntyre, Hannah Watts, Abbie Porter, Alexandra Whitford, Lorina Clemence, Ashlee Moran and Arena Lewis.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and have reached a provisional or automatic qualifying standard for the NCAA Championships in either the indoor or outdoor seasons.